2016 Annual Ball & Presentation Night

20th Aug 2016

Martin Fuggle

One hundred and eighty five Harlequins attended the 2016 Annual Ball & Presentation night at the Kooyong Tennis Club. The atmosphere and ambiance of the evening was excellent and a credit to Peter Dawson and his team who organised a superb event. For the first time the awards night was held at an external venue and given the attendance it is unlikely to be the last time. For the first time there were a number of tables of junior parents and we hope that their numbers increase over the years as the junior club continues to grow. In addition the women had their own table and seemed to be enjoying themselves immensely.

The 'old guard' of the club were conspicuous by their absence. Hopefully enough of them will return next year to make up one or two tables.

A selection of photos from the evening can be seen by clicking here and if anyone would like a copy email me to let me know which photo you would like and I will email a copy to you.

The award winners are shown below.

Best Player Awards Recipient(s)
Colts Blue William Vincent
Women Ashley Marsters
4th Grade Paul Bailey
3rd Grade Steve Pene
2nd Grade Matia Vibote
Colts - Ken Austen Trophy Manaia Koko
1st Grade Eli Vole
Individual Awards  
Top Try Scorer(s) Kelu Vaele & James Murphy
Sandi Ash Cup Hilary de Guingand
Les Rangiawha Denzel O'Meagher
Coach of the Year Pom Simona
Bruce Townsend Award Chris Grellis
John Ross Award (Juniors) Meri & Atu Bosenavulagi
President's Trophy Paris Dale
Harlequin of the Year David Philips